Venturing Logo 
A Variety of Awards are Available in Venturing

Venturing Bronze Award  Venturing Devices Venturing Bronze Award

There are five different Venturing Bronze awards: Arts and Hobbies, Outdoor, Sea Scouts, Sports, and Religious Life. All five Bronze awards contain the common elements of experience, learning a skill, and sharing experiences and skills with others. Earning at least one Venturing Bronze Award is required for the Venturing Gold Award. The Venturing Bronze Award is designed as the first tier in the advancement track for Venturers so they can acquire usable skills that will carry them along the trail to the Venturing Silver Award.

The Venturing Bronze Award is a colorful, campaign-style ribbon that may be worn on the Sea Scout or Venturing uniform. If all five are earned, all five may be worn on the uniform. The ribbons have an icon representing the area in which it was earned superimposed on the ribbon.

Venturing Gold AwardVenturing Gold Award

Venturing Gold Award candidates must be active and registered Venturers for at least 12 months before final qualification. They must serve in a leadership role within the 12 months before final qualification. They must participate in a district, council, or national Venturing event or activity. They must set and accomplish one personal goal in each of the six areas. They must plan and lead at least two crew activities. They must recite the Venturing Oath. Three letters of recommendation from adults outside of the crew are required, and the candidate must make an oral presentation to a crew review committee. Finally, they must be approved and recommended by their crew committee.

Venturing Silver AwardVenturing Silver Award

Venturers must be proficient in emergency preparedness (including standard first aid, CPR, and Safe Swim Defense), participate in Ethics in Action, complete the Venturing Leadership Skills Course, earn the Venturing Gold Award, and earn at least one of the five Venturing Bronze awards.

 Ranger AwardVenturing Ranger Award

The purpose of the award is to encourage Venturers to achieve a high level of outdoor skills proficiency; recognize achievement of this high level of outdoor skills proficiency; provide a path for outdoor/high-adventure skills training; and establish Rangers as a highly trained leadership resource for crews, Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, and the community.

Ranger candidates must complete eight challenging core requirements:

  • First Aid
  • Emergency Preparedness
  • Leave No Trace
  • Land Navigation
  • Wilderness Survival
  • Communications
  • Cooking
  • Conservation

And four of 18 challenging electives:

  • Backpacking
  • Cave Exploring
  • Cycling/Mountain Biking
  • Ecology
  • Equestrian
  • First Aid
  • Fishing
  • Hunting
  • Lifesaver
  • Mountaineering
  • Outdoor Living History
  • Physical Fitness
  • Plants and Wildlife
  • Project COPE
  • Scuba
  • Shooting Sports
  • Watercraft
  • Winter Sports